Millions choose this clean-burning fuel for bus, taxi, delivery, and other fleets to minimize air pollution in metropolitan areas.

click here for more

Inergy, L.P.

Inergy, L.P. was launched in 1996 when a group of propane industry veterans recognized that the fragmentation of the industry represented a strategic, long-term business opportunity: Providing a succession plan for the most respected of the industry’s 5,000-plus independent business owners who were at or nearing retirement age. The consolidated company would become an industry leader with high levels of customer and employee satisfaction and “best in class” financial performance.

Fifteen years later, Inergy has acquired more than 85 retail propane operations and has become the fourth largest propane company in the U.S. Some of those companies have long and respected histories in the propane industry, and many of their owners have served as leaders in the industry at both the state and national levels.

Just a few of those companies and their leaders are:

  • Country Gas Propane in Crystal Lake, IL – Len Petersohn
  • Hancock Gas Service in Findlay, OH – Fred Klein, Jr. and his family
  • Graeber Brothers Propane in Marks, MS – Lewis and Jim Graeber
  • Country Gas in Sumiton, AL – John Watson, Rabon Watson and Mickey Drummond
  • Pulver Gas in Bridgehampton, NY – Clarence “Whitey” Pulver and Ray   Enstine, Sr.
  • Dowdle Gas in Columbus, MSJohn “Nutie” Dowdle

Inergy went public as a master limited partnership (MLP) in July 2001.  It’s no wonder that – with the high caliber of propane retailers that make up the Inergy family of companies – over the years Inergy became one of the fastest growing propane marketers in the nation. The company trades under the ticker NRGY.

Inergy’s management team has taken a leadership role in the propane industry over the years, as well. Some executives serve on various state and regional committees and others serve at the national level. Carl Hughes, senior vice president for business development, serves as the NPGA Chairman for the 2011–2012 term as the Propane Centennial Celebration kicks off.